Montana State University

College of Engineering

Montana State University
P.O. Box 173820
Bozeman, MT 59717-3820

Tel: (406) 994-2272
Fax: (406) 994-6665
Location: 212 Roberts Hall

Dean and Director:

Brett Gunnink

Points of Excellence:
Nationally and Internationally Recognized Scholars

other Points of Excellence categories  

Tim Brox and Loribeth Evertz are the latest MSU students to earn the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship. Evertz is a mechanical engineering major and an engineering ambassador from Joliet. More...

Trevor Zuroff, a senior in chemical engineering and an engineering ambassador, has accepted a Graduate Research Fellowship from the National Science Foundation.

Hashem Nehrir, professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been elevated to Fellow by the IEEE. Nehrir was recognized for his contributions to alternative energy power generation. Nehrir joined MSU’s faculty in 1987. IEEE is the world’s largest professional association advancing innovation and technological excellence for the benefit of humanity. More...

Bruce R. McLeod has been granted the "Professor Emeritus" title by the Montana Board of Regents. McLeod's career at Montana State University has included 26 years as an assistant, associate, and full professor (1970-1996) of electrical and computer engineering. More...

Ed Adams, civil engineering, featured in article published by the National Geographic Society. Avalanche researcher Ed Adams is featured in an article, adapted for three different age groups, that ran in the November/ December issue of National Geographic Explorer (both the Pioneer and Pathfinder editions) and Extreme Explorer. All three are supplemental reading tools for children. More...

Stephen Sofie, mechanical engineering, is the principal investigator for a $750,000 NASA grant. The Montana Space Grant Consortium will administer the grant. The multi-disciplinary team at MSU will develop new ceramic materials that will enable solid oxide fuel cells (SOFC) to perform in closed-loop power systems that NASA wants for lunar and Mars missions, as well as powering the crew exploration vehicle. Rafal Angryk, computer science, receives NASA funding.

Dr. Rafal Angryk, computer science, has received a 4-year $400k NASA grant for a Solar Dynamics Observatory Science Center. Angryk is collaborating with Dr. Petrus Martens of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. John Sheppard, computer science, receives U.S. Navy grant.

John Sheppard, RightNow Technologies Distinguished Professor, was awarded a 1-year contract from the U.S. Navy for $181K for his proposal CASS Technical Engineering Support: ATS Framework. John is collaborating with two research affiliates, Stephyn Butcher and Patrick Donnelly, to implement and demonstrate semantic interoperability between multiple diagnostic reasoner applications based on an emerging IEEE standard. Results of this demonstration are expected to lead to the Department of Defense mandating the standard for future acquisition programs requiring advanced diagnostics on automatic test systems.