Montana State University
College of Engineering > Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP)

Montana LTAP

Montana State University
PO Box 173910
Bozeman, MT  59717-3910

Physical Address:
2327 University Way, Room 230
Bozeman, MT  59715

Tel:  (406) 994-6100
Fax: (406) 994-5333


Steven V. Jenkins, P.E.


MACRS Conference

The 2015 MACRS Spring Conference will be held March 30-April 2, 2015, at the Best Western Heritage Inn, Great Falls, Montana. Click here for Participant Registration. Click here for Vendor Registration.

The MACRS organization was started in 1979 with John Bilbro of Rosebud County as the first President. The MACRS Conference and Seminar is held annually in different locations throughout Montana. The program covers a variety of topics dealing with ways to solve problems encountered in on-the-job situations and provides an opportunity to find out how other counties and communities cope. Anyone involved with the management of roads, streets and bridges will benefit from the knowledge shared at the MACRS conference. City, town, county, state and tribal personnel are welcome!

Past Presidents of the organization are: '79,'80,'81-John Bilbro, Rosebud; '82-Gene Dreidlein, Meagher; '83-Vince Kerouac, Cascade; '84-Charlie Phillips, Flathead; '85-Jim Ellis, Lewis & Clark; '86-Marvin Kleinjan, Hill; '87-Bob Jacks, Missoula; '88-Bob Youngberg, Park; '89-Ken Jorgensen, Cascade; '90-Ed Beck, Sheridan; '91- Don Gallus, Blaine; '92-Sam Gianfrancisco, Gallatin; '93-Dale Rath, Fallon; '94-Sanford Haugsdal, Musselshell; '95 -Rick Seiler, Valley; '96-Don Bohne, Missoula; '97-Russ Huotari, Richland; '98 Jerry Otto, Hill, '99 Joe Foran, Dawson/Richard Miller, Beaverhead, 2000 John Ostlund, Yellowstone; 2001 Larry Juell, Sweet Grass; 2002 Eric Griffin, Lewis & Clark ; 2003 Jack Knorr, Stillwater County; 2004 Tom Romo, Roosevelt County; 2005 Russ Albers, Chouteau County; 2006 Tim White, Lincoln County, District #3; 2007 Jim McCarthy, Butte-Silver Bow; 2008 Wayne Waarvik, Valley County; 2009 Shawn Norick, Liberty County; 2010 Wayne Buck, Rosebud County; 2011 Mitch Urdahl, Gallatin County, 2012 Tom Fairbank, Blaine County, 2013 Jerry Backlund, Custer County

Conference Meeting Locations: Havre, '83, Helena '84, Billings '85, Bozeman '86, Great Falls, '87, Livingston '88, Lewistown '89, Kalispell '90, Glasgow '91, Bozeman '92, Missoula '93, Helena '94, Polson '95, Billings '96, Lewistown '97, Great Falls '98, Kalispell '99, Havre 2000, Missoula 2001, Billings 2002, Fairmont Hot Springs 2003 , Bozeman 2004, Billings 2005, Great Falls 2006, Kalispell 2007, Helena 2008, Great Falls 2009, Great Falls 2010, Great Falls 2011, Great Falls 2012, Great Falls 2013, Great Falls 2014, Great Falls 2015..

Message from 2014 - 2015 MACRS President Ovila Byrd:

As newly-elected 2014-2015 MACRS President, I look forward to working with all 56 county road departments in Montana. I saw how past presidents and past representatives stay active in making this organization an outstanding tool for all county road employees. This organization was built on "we." It is not necessary to become an officer. If you have an idea or problem, let me or your District Representative know and it will be brought to the table.

Through MACRS and our partnership with Montana LTAP, training topics and workshops have been provided based on your requests. Coordination of our spring conference through Montana LTAP has been effective in providing the best conference possible for not only county road employees, but for our county commissioners--over 50 county commissioners attended the 2014 spring conference.
As we meet the challenges of floods, droughts, and blizzards, those who keep informed through training and sharing information with their county neighbors are able to meet the demand of the public to keep our county roads safe.

MACRS 35th Annual Conference will be held at the Heritage Inn, Great Falls, Montana, March 30-April 2, 2015. This roster of officers met in November and we have planned for our conference a real mix of interesting and requested topics. As MACRS President, I look forward to working with this outstanding group of 2014-15 MACRS officers and representatives.

2014-15 Officers

  • President: Ovila Byrd, Flathead County, 406-758-5790, obyrd(at)
  • 1st Vice President –John Stokes, Pondera county, 406-279-3651, pocova(at)
  • 2nd Vice President –John Anderson, Fergus County, 406-535-5006, fcrdbri(at)
  • Secretary-Treasurer –Lloyd Omdahl, Toole County, 406-434-2742, tcroad(at)

District Representatives

  • #1 Jeff Friesz, Sanders County, 406-741-3582, sandersco2(at)
  • #2 Dana Rauser, Broadwater County, 406-266-3429, roaddept(at)
  • #3 Doug Nisbet, Lewis & Clark County, 406-447-8031, dnisbet(at)
  • #4 Bobby Weidmer, Fallon County, 406-978-2015, falcord(at)
  • #5 William Littell, Sweet Grass County, 406-932-5140, sgroads (at)

MACo Representatives

  • Jerry Otto, Hill County, 406-265-8507, hillco1405(at)
  • Eric Griffin, Lewis & Clark County, 406-447-1636, egriffin(at)

Training Committee Representative

  • Jerry Otto, Hill County, 406-265-8507, hillco1405(at)
  • Sandra Broesder, Pondera County, 406-275-3156,

Past President

  • Past President –Jerry Backlund, Custer County, 406-232-1970, j.backlund(at)

Conference Host

Dues of $100 entitle the county to annual membership in MACRS and participation in the annual state Conference/Seminar for one county representative. The cost for additional participants from each county is $100 and they may register now or in person at the conference. Vendors dues are $400 annually for one representative and $100 for each additional representative. There is a nominal charge for additional tables at each conference. All monies are used for the MACRS organization. Membership Applications/Renewals and dues are collected annually by Montana LTAP on behalf of MACRS. Dues and bookkeeping records will be transferred to MACRS Secretary/Treasurer after they are collected.

The MACRS Planning Meeting was held at the Best Western Heritage Inn, Great Falls, on November 12 & 13, 2014, hosted by MACRS. Minutes and agenda items will be available after the meeting.

If you want to see the MACRS 2014 Conference Program, click here!