Montana State University

College of Engineering

Montana State University
P.O. Box 173820
Bozeman, MT 59717-3820

Tel: (406) 994-2272
Fax: (406) 994-6665
Location: 212 Roberts Hall

Dean and Director:

Robert Marley

Do you want the COE’s electronic newsletter?

Send us an e-mail that includes your

  • full name
  • your degree
  • class year
  • and preferred e-mail address

We’ll send e-news to your in box!

Contact us at Check out the first issue at

College of Engineering

College of Engineering

A team of juniors majoring in Construction Engineering Technology at MSU placed third in the national Pre-Construction competition at the Associated Schools of Construction annual conference. Virginia Tech and Chico State placed first and second respectively. (See featured photo below.)

Bryant Robbins, civil engineering, won a U.S. Department of Defense Science, Mathematics and Research for Transformation, or SMART, scholarship. Robbins is among the 15% of applicants who won scholarships.

Elisabeth Driscoll received a NCAA post-graduate scholarship worth $7,500 and donated the most community service hours by an athlete. Driscoll earned a perfect 4.0 GPA and three bachelor’s degrees: mechanical engineering, modern languages, and University Honors. Driscoll is a distance runner from Bozeman.

Todd Daniels, Montana Manufacturing Extension Center, won NIST’s Manufacturing Extension Partnership (MEP) Practitioner of the Year award. Jian (Neil) Tang, assistant professor in computer science, won a prestigious National Science Foundation CAREER Award for his work with wireless communications technology.

Durward Sobek, industrial engineering associate professor, won a 2009 Shingo Research and Professional Publication prize for a book "Understanding A3 Thinking" that he co-wrote with Art Smalley. The book is about problem-solving within organizations, such as manufacturing companies.


Seeing what students, faculty and staff have achieved during Fiscal Year 2009 (July 1, 2008 through June 30, 2009) fills me with anticipation of what we will achieve in FY10 and beyond. Please take time to read highlights on this page and others under “Awards and Recognition” contained in this report.

At the outset of FY10, MSU’s President, Geoff Gamble, appointed Joe Fedock as interim provost for a two-year term. Fedock is a member of our civil engineering faculty and has served as MSU’s senior vice provost since 2002. You might have also heard that as we enter the new calendar year, the second half of FY10, MSU has a new president. Waded Cruzado replaced President Gamble upon his retirement.

We will miss Dr. Gamble’s leadership but welcome Dr. Cruzado, who has long-standing ties to land grant universities, where she has spent her entire career. I am especially proud of how successful our faculty have been in meeting the land grant mission of extending knowledge gained through research to the people of Montana and beyond.

Each of the COE research and extension centers has had notable successes. The Western Transportation Institute posted more than $8 million in sponsored research benefiting all rural states. The Center for Biofilm Engineering continued to expand its impact internationally and to demonstrate the effectiveness of multi-disciplinary work in finding solutions to infectious disease and water quality problems that affect people worldwide. And, finally, leaders working for Montana Manufacturing Extension Center won awards for the positive impact that they have on the local and regional economy.